Myra M. - Prescott, AZ
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful Magical Guest: (Prescott, AZ) Date of Stay: Review Submitted: 11/20/07 Hawaii is wonderful, Kauai is wonderful, Hanalei is wonderful, The Downstairs Beach House is wonderful! You get the picture! (and you cant beat the location!) Thanks for a fantastic stay - well be in touch w/ you again for our next visit. It IS magical, hope to see you soon!
View Property: 89016
Jim Ciment - Venice California
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Serenity and beauty Hanalei is one of the most enchanting places I have ever visited and the downstairs beach house was a lovely place to stay. The great lawn leading down to the beach was just perfect for our newly walking little one to run around on. The beach walks were wonderful to share with her. Serenity and beauty. It was a special visit. Thanks for having us.
View Property: 89016
jim, irene, and bibi
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Hanalei ranks among the most exquisite and again, I want to thank you for sharing your place with us. It was beautiful and serene. Everything we were looking for in a getaway...and our little girl loved being able to run out the front door and around the great lawn. I have been all over the world and I have to say Hanalei ranks among the most exquisite places I have ever been.
View Property: 89016
Hollis & Mary Pat - Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We love staying right on Hanalei Bay and truly enjoyed our 8 night stay at Downstairs Beach House. We cooked fresh fish from the Dolphin fish market almost every night! Only downside of this unit is the living room furniture is not very comfortable. We noticed that the Upstairs Beach House has a nice set of sofa, loveseat and chair and wonder if the Downstairs will be upgraded soon to have more comfortable furniture, i.e. with back rests for reading and visiting in the living room. Malalo for everything - Hollis Greenwood and Mary Pat Power, Ashland, Oregon Owner response: Thanks for your input. We now have new comfortable living room furniture. :
View Property: 89016
Anonymous
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Happy Camper on the bay Thanks again for the rental of the beach house. We had a great time and never actually left the yard/bay except to get groceries in Hanalei! SO much fun and no need to go anywhere else! Blessings and aloha, Thatcher Ohana
View Property: 89016
Barbara - Franklin, Tn.
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The downstairs beach house What a great place. The best part is the location on Hanalei Bay. It was easy to find due to the maps and directions Suzanne and Terri sent. Just a short stroll across the lawn and there is the beach. We could sit in the shade of the trees down by the water and watch the waves with a nice breeze or a few more steps and take a dip in the cool water. The photos we saw on the site were just as it appeared. The second bedroom with twin beds was kind of funky and the ceiling fan made so much noise and wabbled that we could not sleep there. Kids would probably be fine with it. We reported this to them. The property was clean. The kitchen needs attention, one cabinet door came off the hinge, I reported this too. The overall character of the place was just like I would expect a beach house to be. Being on Hanalei Bay, with the beach close to the house so mom could walk to the ocean or just sit and enjoy was our goal. In this sense it was perfect. Loved the wind blowing through the windows and the constant sound of the ocean waves. Just sitting in the living room watching the ocean and the trees was contentment. This is what we went for. The house was secondary. I was perfectly happy with the house and its location and the view. We were there 10 days but it was not long enough. I have already recommended this beach house, downstairs or upstairs, to many people. We loved going to get fresh fish at the Dolphin restaurant and market and cooking it on the barbecue or eating out. The Health food store was great and all the shops were fun to shop in too. Plenty of places to eat in town. We could have walked to town in about 10 minutes, but mom is 84. We loved the farmers market for fresh vegetables and fruit. Mahalo and Aloha, Barbara Owner response: We fixed all of the things that Barbara reported to us right after they checked out. We appreciate our guests letting us know if something needs fixing. The living room got a beautiful new classic Hawaii style furniture set and a new king size bed in the bedroom. The twin room also got new beds.
View Property: 89016
CA family of 3 - East Bay, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
perfect location As advertised, this house really is right at the beach on beautiful Hanalei Bay. Just walk across the lawn and you are there! It was our third time in Hanalei, and this was the best. Rain when we arrived, but sunny for the rest of our stay. The house was in perfect condition -- clean, well-appointed and comfy. We recommend the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant for great (tho expensive) food and location on the river. Next time in Hanalei, well book this house again. (Also -- nice to meet you Suzanne!) Owner response: Thanks. Meeting great people who stay at our houses is my job perk! Suzanne
View Property: 89016
Liz - Sebastopol, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Fantastic spot We had a wonderful week in the Downstairs Beach House. The place is cute and was super clean. We loved being right on Hanalei Bay and being able to swim in front of the house and walk into town. The kitchen was nicely stocked for cooking at home. Thanks for the super reservation service and fun vacation home! Owner response: So cool! Mahalo. We try hard and we are glad when our guests appreciate our places & our service. We look forward to your return.
View Property: 89016
Gina - Lihue, HI
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Relaxing Getaway What a relaxing week in beautiful Hanalei! Loved the downstairs beach house, very clean and comfortable, had everything we needed. Thanks for being so accommodating. Will definitely stay again.
View Property: 89016
Maria Panousopoulos
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Fantastic beach house in beautiful Hanalei This beach house is really great for families. Being on the first floor was great for us because we could just walk over to the beach in no time. The large grassy area in the front was so fun to run around in and play ball. The beach is beautiful and the mountains and waterfalls can be seen from the property. We will be returning here for sure!
View Property: 89016
MARGARET JACKSON
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Christmas on the beach WHAT A PERFECT PLACE TO HOMEBASE FROM. WE RANGED IN AGE FROM 13 TO 60 AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. OUR END OF THE BEACH WAS PEACEFULL AND TOWN WAS SO CLOSE. OUR FAVORITE MEMORIES ARE OF THE GREAT MEALS WE COOKED ON THE GRILL. FRESH FISH FROM THE FISHMARKET COULDNT BE BEAT. WE ALL LOVED HAVING BREAKFAST AND DINNER ON THE PORCH AND HEARING THE WAVES RAIN OR SHINE. IT WAS AGREAT LOCATION FOR US AS WE HIKED THE MANY TRAILS THE ISLAND HAS TO OFFER. A SIDE NOTE - A SPECIAL THANKS TO THE OWNERS FOR DELIVERING MY DAUGHTERS CHRISTMAS PAKAGE ON CHRISTMAS EVE--THEY WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND ON THAT ONE.
View Property: 89016
Marti Hubbard
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Paradise We rented both the upstairs and downstairs for a family vacation. It was absolutely perfect for our group. It had everything we needed and it is in the perfect location especially when you have small children with you. The grass area is wonderful and worked perfect for my 16 month granddaughter who was in a walking boot from breaking her tibia two weeks before. Kobayashis are great to rent from and they keep the area very clean and maintained. We had a great time.
View Property: 89016
Donna Chrisman
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Keone Beach House gold stargold stargold stargold stargold star spacer Great location with all the amenities and very comfortable and clean. More than we expected. During the heat of the day there was no better place to read and relax than under the shade of the trees with the breeze of the trade winds. Would definitely recommend to everyone. Great place for a family with children and for all ages - young and old. Loved the hot/cold outdoor shower. Will definitely stay here again and for 2 or more weeks instead of one week. Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
View Property: 89016
Linda Hellenius
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Super location We loved our stay here, perfect location, perfect weather, perfect wedding! We will return.
View Property: 89016
guli arshad - boston, ma
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Beautiful place-great location Beautiful place-great location, well furnished and very clean. The rental process was smooth and very professional. I would comeback and visit in a heart beat!
View Property: 89015
Chiarappas and Gordniers - Ka Nani
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
loved it! 2 families of 4 with 2 kids each stayed here and loved it!! great location, great house, great yard!!
View Property: 89015
Selen Stromgren - Rockville, MD
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A wonderful beach escape My family and I have loved our time at this house. Nestled between mountains, the gorgeous Hanalei Bay and lush green fields with lots of palm trees, the views from all windows of this house were simply breath-taking. The house was extremely well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The house is right on the Hanalei beach. We would definitely like to go back as soon as we can and stay longer this time. Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
View Property: 89015
Christopher Denkers - Shoreline WA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wedding and reception We were planning our destination wedding and could not find a "venue" that suited our vision of a small wedding and reception. Our family and friends totaled 25 and all wanted to contribute to our "potluck". My husband and I found the home owners very gracious and accommodating on every aspect and went above and beyond for our special day. We will always treasure all the memories of this amazingly beautiful place and hope one day to return for a few anniversaries. Thank you! Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
View Property: 89015
22Kauai
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Heaven by the sea My husband and I have been fortunate to stay at Hanalei Moon Beach Cottage for the last six or seven years. What started out as a three day stay has now become three weeks. The cottage is cute, clean, and comfortable with two outdoor showers that we love. However, most importantly for us, is that its on beautiful Hanalei Bay. We plan on making Hanalei Moon Beach Cottage or home-away-from-home for many years to come.
View Property: 89014
Carl and Dolly Belt - Glen Burnie, Md
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Absolutely Wonderful! We cant put into words how absoluty wonderful the whole week was. My son and his family stayed at the adjoining property so we were able to visit with them every day. They are from Calif. and were in Md. clear across the country so this was really special. We toured all around the island. We went to the coffee plantation,the farmers market saw Pierce Bronson yes thats right the 007. Not once but three times. We all miss the whole experience. Thanks for having such a wonderful,beautiful place for familys to stay.
View Property: 89014
Happy Traveler - Bellevue, WA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Hanalei Heaven We had a magical vacation in your beach rental and are most appreciative of the upgrades since our last visit. The artistic rearrangement and the additional art is wonderful and we were very happy to see the new fridge and stove. Everything was fantastic and we really liked the new doors and colors. You have made our dream get-away even more enjoyable. Mahalo for providing the BEST vacation experience we can imagine. We will book next year soon as we see things are filling up!
View Property: 89014
Karen from Denver - Denver
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful home away from home! We stayed at HMBC in early November. The cottage is comfortable, well equipped, and the location couldnt be better. We loved just watching the ocean from the living room: the view is amazing! The property is well maintained, and close to shops, great restaurants, and the best beaches on Kauai. We would stay there again!
View Property: 89014
Surf, & Sun - Santa Barbara
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Paradise on Earth Hanalei Moon Beach Cottage filled all our needs! Thank you to everyone that works so hard to maintain and keep Hanalei Moon available as a beach front rental! All the beach toys, boards, books, welcome basket of goodies, were appreciated. This is a hidden gem and Terri & Suzanne did a fantastic job communicating with us. Mahalo from Santa Barbara
View Property: 89014
tono - Centerville, Utah
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Excellent Location and Amazing View We had an amazing time on the island and this home was hard to leave! Amazing beach access just seriously steps away and an amazing view of the bay from the lanai and family room made the entire trip great, even in the rain. The house is very well equipt and private. People were friendly in the area and I think it will be hard to find anything better in Hanalei. I think this is the type of property that makes people move from the mainland. We hope to return soon!
View Property: 89014
Vicki - Glendora, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Return to Paradise This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Moon Beach Cottage and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. The location is absolutely amazing.....daily walks on the beach, evening BBQs on the lawn....absolutely the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. We cannot wait to return.
View Property: 89014
Anonymous
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful stay at Hanalei Moon Cottage We loved staying at the Hanalei Moon Beach Cottage. Eight years ago we stayed in the house next door. The place fit us perfectly and the view was amazing. So nice to be on the beach in less than one minute! Very clean and comfortable and quiet. We will be back next year for sure.
View Property: 89014