Megan Lear - San Diego
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Cant wait to return We just returned from an 8-day trip to Kauai. We spent the first four nights at The Old Style Beach House and I cant think of a better way to enjoy a visit to this island. The location is simply unbeatable: right on the Bay with just a nice grassy lawn and a few palm trees separating you from that warm Hawaiian water. The house was immaculate and looked exactly like the pictures. As other reviewers have mentioned, its not The Four Seasons, but its homey and totally comfortable. A basket of local treats on the kitchen table was a really welcoming touch too. It was so nice to wake up early in the morning, make some Kona coffee in the kitchen, look out at that view and then explore the beach. Some days we were the only people on the sand! We were traveling with our two school-age kids, so it was really nice to have a little more space than we would have in a hotel room; having a fully stocked kitchen for cooking at the house certainly made life easier (and saved some money too). Suzanne and Terri made booking easy and the directions were very clear, Gosh, even reading the directions is enough to make me want to book a flight! From the house youre in easy walking distance to town and the Hanalei Pier with its crystal blue water and Pats Taqueria, which was hands down the best food we ate on the island. Our kiddos loved the smoothies at Hanalei Taro & Juice Co. Youre also a quick car ride away from Tunnels, where we saw Monk Seals, sea turtles and some really colorful parrotfish while snorkeling. After we checked out we headed down to Poipu. After spending four days in Hanalei it felt like Disneyland. Even though we were staying at a five star resort with beautiful grounds and marble bathrooms, I found myself missing the Old Style Beach House. You just cant beat the natural beauty of the North Shore & the easygoing vibe of Hanalei, and The Old Style Beach House is the perfect place to enjoy it. Our family declared this the best vacation ever, and we cant wait to return to The Old Style Beach House.
View Property: 89019
Alison H.
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A great "home away from home" We loved our stay at the Old Style Beach House where we could just walk across the lawn to the beach and Hanalei Bay. The house was very comfortable - good bed, good air circulation, ceiling fans and a well equipped kitchen. It is also close to Hanalei for restaurants and stores, and close to good snorkeling beaches. There are Farmers Markets in the areas with wonderful produce, and interesting gardens and nature areas to explore. It is clean and well maintained with a fresh growing orchid on the table, and more outside on the trees. It is not fancy, but charming and home like. We would definitely recommend it and stay there again.
View Property: 89019
Lindsey - Saint Louis
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Old Style stay I loved this house. It was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon and the mountain/ocean view combo was amazing! It was also a great location- close to town (walking distance) and to all of the attractions on the North Shore. We will definitely be back!
View Property: 89019
Joyce Lake - Neversink, NY
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Perfect vacation This was the best vacation ever. Everything in the property listing was exactly as portrayed in description and photos. The house was very clean and anything we needed had been supplied. This vacation was a long time in the planning and the owner was extremely helpful and pleasant every step of the way. Whether you want to relax on the beach or be driving around to see the sights youll have whatever you need. I would highly recommend this listing to anyone looking for the perfect spot.
View Property: 89019
Patrick Banister - Toronto, ON
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Always a fantastic experience. This is the 2nd time we have stayed on this property, the first being in the upstairs beach house. The old style is perfect for a couple with kids or without. Although there are 4 bldgs on the property, you always feel secluded and private. Literally steps from beach, which never seems too busy, and a short walk to the lifeguard station, the Old Style Beach house is a pleasure to stay in. Everything is clean and ready to go, there are usually some basic items in the pantry and fridge. While not new, the kitchen is functional and as I mentioned, clean! If you are arriving late and its your first time i suggest getting some supplies in Kapaa on the way to Hanalei. Caveat about the surf in front of the house: there can be a strong current during the winter months - just keep an eye out for signs and walk down the beach 5 mins towards the lifeguard station / public beach access. You can get into trouble if you are not a strong swimmer! If you are looking to surf, world class breaks are nearby, and if you are looking to learn, a 20 mins or so walk to the pier and you will find lessons. There have been gentle upgrades on the property since we were last there which is really nice. The communal washer/dryer is awesome to have. It is run by people who care about what they do and their guests. We will return!
View Property: 89019
Pamela Raymond - Pacifica, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Magical cottage on the bay I will be dreaming about this place for sure. What a sweet, earthy and accommodating place to stay and take in all the beauty surrounding. Everything was how we imagined it but better. I love the old, island-style decor and construction. You can hear the rain at night falling onto the lush, tropical greenery on the grounds as you could also hear the waves lulling you to sleep. The air smelled so good. Walk a few yards and youre sitting on one of the most gorgeous bays in the world. Rainbows galore. A truly relaxing getaway on the north shore of Kauai, super location, just about 10 minute walk to town to get a shave ice or to Tahiti Nui to do some people watching, have a mai-tai and listen to some ukelele and island music. Ive stayed at many places all over the island and this place is tops! Cant wait to get back!
View Property: 89019
Lori
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Old Style Beach house We stayed in The old Style Beach house. It was as special as always. I am a returning customer. It definitely is a magical place. It gets ahold of you and you dont want to leave. So close to the beautiful Hanalei Bay.
View Property: 89019
Heidi M Rahn - Whitefish MI
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Old style beach cottage This place is amazing! Location perfect for us we loved walking to town, sitting on the beach. Photos do not do this justice even better in person. One little thing I liked was the cottage had a few extras, small things like salt, pepper BBQ. Best vacation ever WE will be back for more than just 6 nights.
View Property: 89019
Janet Thoma - West Hills, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The Old Style is a cute little cottage in paradise This little cottage on beautiful Hanalei Bay was the perfect place for celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. The house was clean, the views spectacular, and we will always remember the beautiful sunsets and quiet strolls along the beach. Anyone would love this cute bungalow, except possibly those who enjoy only resort style vacations. As to not repeat previous reviewers positive comments, please read them below. We selected the Old Style based on these and other great reviews on the internet. So glad we did. Mahalo Terri & Suzanne!
View Property: 89019
Janie & John Moody - Corvallis, OR
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Absolutely a fabulous location! Our week stay at The Old Style Beach House was great! You can see and hear the ocean waves from the lanai and we loved the sounds of the surf lullaby each evening. The beach was maybe 30 yards away and walking down to the pier took about 20 minutes. Booking was easy with Terri and Suzanne who are friendly and helpful. We would definitely return! Aloha!
View Property: 89019
Sandy - Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Heavenly Hanalei We have stayed at the Kobayashi cottages several times before - this was our first stay in the Upstairs Beach House. We had absolutely everything we needed. The cottage is simple, but very comfortable. The views and the proximity to the magnificent beach are worth the price per night. There are many other rental properties on this beach, but very few at this price point. We will be back! Owner response: Thanks for the nice review. We look forward to your return.
View Property: 89017
Dennis Chenoweth - Ventura, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Dear Suzanne and Terri: We would like to thank you very much for allowing us to rent the Upstairs Beach House. We sincerely appreciated the way the house was prepared for us upon our arrival. The flowers, fruit and coffee that were available for us were very welcoming touches. The house was in a perfect location for us. It was very peaceful in the evenings. This really helped make our vacation a relaxing one. Finally, we were blessed with great weather and we particularly enjoyed our daily walks to the pier, the nightly sunsets from the lanai, and our first experience as ocean sweepers. Thanks again, Dennis and Su
View Property: 89017
Peter and Marti - Oregon
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great piece of property at the base of Hanalei Bay - we rented the upstairs unit for 6 days/5 nights (not long enough...) - upstairs was perfect size for our group Coffee in the morning on the covered lanai, a glass of wine and a BBQ every evening. All with under 200 steps to the sand - cant beat it Well be back - mahalo Cheers Peter and Mart
View Property: 89017
Joyce Lake - Neversink, NY
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Perfect vacation This was the best vacation ever. Everything in the property listing was exactly as portrayed in description and photos. The house was very clean and anything we needed had been supplied. This vacation was a long time in the planning and the owner was extremely helpful and pleasant every step of the way. Whether you want to relax on the beach or be driving around to see the sights youll have whatever you need. I would highly recommend this listing to anyone looking for the perfect spot.
View Property: 89017
Nicole - Highland, NY
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Mahalo Thank you for a great place to lay our heads on this amazing island. What a trip. We had such an amazing time and the location was perfect. The house was right on the beach and so close to town. Our neighbors were great and we found nothing lacking in the accommodations. The only thing we did notice was a bit of an insect/ant problem. Im sure thats the case anywhere on the island, but as much as we kept things clean and dry....there they were. We found the beds very comfy, the views breathtaking, the kitchen fully stocked (even a few condiments), and beautiful island breezes. I would come back again. Mahalo
View Property: 89017
Nick Eubank
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
New Dad There is not a unit on this property that is not perfect. The Upstairs has to be my personal favorite, simply because my morning coffee, papaya, pastry was enjoyed with the postcard view afforded from a second story deck. If youre not sure on the location of this property be advised that it does not get any better. The large green lawn welcomes you back from your pristine gorgeous beach of the perfectly rugged mountain framed Hanalei Bay. A beach walk to the pier and back is so enjoyable it will have you conjuring business plans to afford you a property of your own fronting this paradise. That being said the Upstairs is a great unit for any vacation. Functional, simple, well maintained and clean enough to let a 7 month old crawl around. I hope to make this an annual tradition.
View Property: 89017
Tammy Gall - Malibu, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Peaceful Paradise Everything about this rental was easy, relaxed, and wonderful. Will definitely stay again.
View Property: 89017
Steve Legallet - Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Doesnt get any better! We decided to get married on Kauai and have always wanted to explore Hanalei. We found the perfect place here. The house was clean & well equipped. Most houses like this with an ocean view costs far more than we paid. We ended up getting married on the lawn between the house & the ocean because it was so beautiful there. I highly recommend the upstairs beach house Na Hoku! Mahalo
View Property: 89017
Suzanne Schroeder - Granite Bay, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Our Piece of Heaven on Earth Every 5 years, we spend our wedding anniversary at this property. It is beautiful! I cant imagine ever returning to the resorts on Kauai. We have everything we need here, and theres nothing between our lanai and the surf except some grass and sand. Though we planned to have a few meals out on the town, we also gathered food and supplies on our way from the airport. When we realized we didnt have or ran out of something, we either found it in the nearby grocery store or in the cabinets of the house. Sometimes, we rent a place and the spices and condiments left behind by others are greasy and stale. But here, it was almost as if everything was freshly stocked for us. Little details like a new, in-wrapper sponge for doing dishes remind me that this place is cleaner than my own house! And yet, this place does feel like home. The on-property washer/dryer means that we can wash our clothes halfway through the trip instead of packing more luggage. I cant decide what was the best party of staying here. Surfing perfect waves just outside our front door? Grilling our own meals, usually a local fish with some fresh vegetables and a $1 pineapple from the towns farmers market? Relaxing on the lanai while listening to our music on the houses stereo? Being located far enough down the road that we beat the crowds to the Kalalau trailhead and Tunnels Beach? It truly doesnt get any better than this. From leisurely walks into town to candlelit dinners, this place is near everything yet away from it all. I said it before and Ill say it again: we WILL be back!
View Property: 89017
Louisa Yates - Healdsburg, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Upstairs Beach House It was our first visit, and we already to look forward to the next one. What a great beach house! The listing info and photos were very accurate. The place was actually even better than we had expected. An extremely comfortable house. And a large lanai w/ great views (and nice breezes).
View Property: 89017
Marti Hubbard - Clovis, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Paradise We rented both the upstairs and downstairs for a family vacation. It was absolutely perfect for our group. It had everything we needed and it is in the perfect location especially when you have small children with you. The grass area is wonderful and worked perfect for my 16 month granddaughter who was in a walking boot from breaking her tibia two weeks before. Kobayashis are great to rent from and they keep the area very clean and maintained. We had a great time.
View Property: 89017
Valerie Miller - Berkeley CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Absolutely Outstanding View of the ocean especially from second floor. House nicely laid out and comfortable.
View Property: 89017
Linda Hellenius - Prince George, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Beautiful view We rented the upstairs and downstairs suites for a week for the seven of us. Couldnt have had a better vacation, right on the beach, and just a nice walk into the village - just perfect! Wish we could stay forever.
View Property: 89017
Ethel Harris - Sydney, Australia
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Perfect location in Hanalei Bay I can highly recommend this property. Situated in beautiful Hanalei Bay, walk across the garden to the beach. Beautiful maintained with everything available including beach towels, beach chairs, outdoor furniture and BBQ.
View Property: 89017
Gretchen B. - kailua, hawaii
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Kids + Beach = Happy The house was wonderful! Especially with kids when it is important to be close to the beach! We will stay at the Downstairs Beach House again!
View Property: 89016
Myra M. - Prescott, AZ
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful Magical Guest: (Prescott, AZ) Date of Stay: Review Submitted: 11/20/07 Hawaii is wonderful, Kauai is wonderful, Hanalei is wonderful, The Downstairs Beach House is wonderful! You get the picture! (and you cant beat the location!) Thanks for a fantastic stay - well be in touch w/ you again for our next visit. It IS magical, hope to see you soon!
View Property: 89016