Kelly Neill - Portland, Oregon
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Second time is even better than the first Just wanted to say that we loved our second stay at this rental. We were there during the "big storm" in March - lots of thunder and lightning, flooding and three days of torrential downpour. The house stayed dry and cozy and is comfortable and spacious enough that we almost didnt mind being housebound for three days. Love having all those sand and water toys at our disposal for when the rain finally stopped. It definitely helps when you are traveling with little ones like we were. We also enjoyed watching all the geckos in the bush outside of the kitchen window. We love how close to the beach this rental is and yet how quiet it is. The only thing we wished for is small plastic cups for the kids. Given the granite tile and glass dining table, its a little nerve-wracking to have your three year old using glass tumblers. A step stool they can use to wash hands with in the bathrooms would also be very helpful. All in all though - another terrific trip to our favorite place in the Hawaiian Islands! Owner response: Thanks so much for your comments. We are so happy you have returned again. Great to hear you weathered our really big storm in comfort. That was a doozy! Next time you come, you will find plastic cups for the kids and a step stool which have been put in the house. These items will be a great addition that all of our future guests will enjoy. Much Aloha!
View Property: 89021
Trish - Lafayette, Ca.
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Happy in Hanalei We arrived to find this home spotless and well equipped. The outdoor shower was a bonus when arriving home from the beach every day to de-sand! I wish it had a little more privacy however, and we would not have used the inside shower at all! The lanai was perfect for evening dinners. We were pleased to find an adequate beach towel supply and a very efficient washer and dryer. The weather was warm during our stay but the extra floor fans along with the ceiling fans kept things quite comfortable, even upstairs in the loft. We found it an easy walk to the beach from the house mainly on quiet, residential streets.
View Property: 89021
Patrick Banister - Toronto, ON
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Always a fantastic experience. This is the 2nd time we have stayed on this property, the first being in the upstairs beach house. The old style is perfect for a couple with kids or without. Although there are 4 bldgs on the property, you always feel secluded and private. Literally steps from beach, which never seems too busy, and a short walk to the lifeguard station, the Old Style Beach house is a pleasure to stay in. Everything is clean and ready to go, there are usually some basic items in the pantry and fridge. While not new, the kitchen is functional and as I mentioned, clean! If you are arriving late and its your first time i suggest getting some supplies in Kapaa on the way to Hanalei. Caveat about the surf in front of the house: there can be a strong current during the winter months - just keep an eye out for signs and walk down the beach 5 mins towards the lifeguard station / public beach access. You can get into trouble if you are not a strong swimmer! If you are looking to surf, world class breaks are nearby, and if you are looking to learn, a 20 mins or so walk to the pier and you will find lessons. There have been gentle upgrades on the property since we were last there which is really nice. The communal washer/dryer is awesome to have. It is run by people who care about what they do and their guests. We will return!
View Property: 89021
Richard and Patsy Rigby - Fresno, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Family Vacation Our Sons, Daughter-In-Laws, Grandchildren and Great Grandchildren enjoyed a fantastic vacation in the Hanalei Kobayashi Family Beach Houses. They were all we had hoped for and all that was promised. Very Clean, Great Accommodations, many more amenities than listed. Short walk to beach, 1 1/2 blocks, a little longer walk for Shave Ice but worth it. Fantastic accommodations. Would stay again. Thank you
View Property: 89021
Cristina Viau
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Will Be Back This home was even nicer than the pictures and descriptions. There were 6 of us (grandma/grandpa, mom/dad, 2 kids under 3) and we had plenty of space. A bathroom for each bedroom was a real plus. We stayed for 10 lovely days and went to the beach every day! Our favorite was Tunnels. We especially loved the views of the waterfalls from the kitchen window (it made washing dishes not so bad). It rained pretty hard overnight a couple of times, and each time it did, there were new waterfalls in the morning! Kauai is our new favorite island, and we would love to come and visit Hanalei again. We would definitely stay at the Hanalei again too!
View Property: 89021
Tim K - Albuquerque, NM
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
North Shore in November. We enjoyed our stay. Nice views of the golf course and ocean on this end unit. Kitchen was fully equipped. The condo was comfortable and convenient to the pool. 5 min walk to the Westin and Starbucks. 15 min walk to Anini Beach. Hanalei is just down the road. There are lots of secluded small beaches in the area, hiking, horseback riding, etc. Princeville is quiet and laid back, just what we needed! We would stay here again.
View Property: 89020
Piers - (United Kingdom)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Peaceful, clean, modern, as advertised! We spent a happy week at Paani. The condo is spacious, in excellent condition, and convenient for all North Shore sights and beaches. Puamana is a quiet complex, and no golf is played near the house. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay in Princeville.
View Property: 89020
Giovanni - Maui
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Enjoyed our stay Four of us (two couples) stayed in this condo for a week and we had a very pleasant experience. One bit of advice: The wood floor in the upstairs bedroom creaks when you walk on it, so best not have late night types upstairs and early risers downstairs!
View Property: 89020
Eva Delgado - Kensington, MO
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing retreat for our family My husband and I agreed that our trip to Kauai and our stay in Paani was the best vacation weve ever taken -- which is saying a lot considering that we are very well traveled ourselves and were a bit wary of what it would be like to vacation with our infant daughter, who also loved everything about this trip! The unit was well described and depicted on the vrbo website, but we were even more impressed in person. It felt so open and airy with the lofted ceilings and tall windows. Every inch of the place was spotless, with nice cool marble floors downstairs and gorgeous wood upstairs. We used the loft space for our daughters pack n play (which we rented from Ready Rentals per the recommendations of Suzanne), and we took the spacious master, leaving the first floor guest room as my hide-out for folding laundry and/or pumping milk while my daughter was asleep upstairs. We used the gas grill every night to cook fresh fish, and stocked the huge fridge with everything we would need so that we didnt feel like we had to go out to dinner - something our 4 month-old is not a fan of doing! That said, we felt close to everything we needed, and stopped by the shops in Princeville to fuel our mango addiction at the grocery there. The binder left in the unit is so helpful - we used that to guide our walks to Anini beach and to find a church on Sunday. My husband was worried that we would feel like there were people on top of us being on a golf course, but we rarely saw anyone playing out there, and we felt privileged to have the best view of all the surrounding units since this one gets the ocean view from the side and the view of a beautiful banyan tree out back. The unit has all the supplies anyone would ever need, so getting to the beach with an infant, a cooler, chairs, and towels was actually totally stress-free with the wheeled cart we found in the closet of the first floor bedroom. The kitchen was more well supplied than my kitchen at home (we left talking about how we are amazed weve survived 7 years of marriage without a salad spinner...). As Im sure is obvious, we want to come back to this spot regularly if possible and only fear we have harmed our chances by giving such a good review! Suzanne and Terri are also wonderful and very responsive to any questions that arose prior to and/or during the trip. I cant wait to get in touch with them again to set up our next stay! My Response Wow! Cool! This is possibly the most thorough as well as wonderful of any comments we have had. So glad you enjoyed! Aloha, Suzanne
View Property: 89020
Paul Rigby
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A Great family experience!! We had the best vacation ever. What a great family vacation in a perfect location. We have been visiting Kauai for the past 40 year and even owned a Condo on Princeville, and I would rate this stay the best. The location is perfect and centrally located between the great hanalei beaches, town, and all the other great thing on this side of the island. Well definitely use any of the Kobyashi Beach Housed again. Mahalo and Aloha. My Response Mahalo. Love to hear from seasoned travelers! Be glad to have you back!
View Property: 89020
Tiana Crutchfield - Los Gatos, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful vacation! Pros: Location!! Great remodeled kitchen had everything a cook could want, beyond fully loaded! Comfortable beds Nice, remodeled bathrooms Ocean, mountain and golf course views Cons: Sleeper futon in loft was a bit small (full/double, not a queen) for my 2 young sons to sleep on (7 and 9 yrs) Some of the screens were bent and would let in a mosquito or two, not a big deal as there are many windows to open to get the trade winds The curtain rod in the master falls to the floor with barely a touch The towel rod in the downstairs bath falls off easily, too (didnt know until I saw bruises on my moms foot) Favorite things: Hanalei Bay Path to Anini Beach North Shore Hiking Na Pali Coast Bike/walking path in Kapaa (we suggest renting bikes and riding along the coast) The cons are so petty, its still a 5 star review. This was our 3rd trip to Kauai and we prefer the North Shore for its quaintness (Hanalei) and less tourists (Poipu). The location is fantastic. It was so great to walk to Anini Beach without having to pack a lunch or much of anything. Shopping and eats are just a short drive or leisurely stroll away. Beautiful views are endless: from the lani overlooking the golf course & ocean, mountain views if you turn the other direction and from the top of the path looking down to Anini. The pool is small, but our kids didnt care. They had a great time splashing around. We hope to return to Kauai soon and this condo will top our list to rent again! Thank you so much!!
View Property: 89020
Tracey Munk - Hailey, ID
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Beautiful! I had never been to Hawaii nor used VRBO and decided to do both with 2 friends. We were a bit skeptical as we began looking through all our choices...this location seems too good to be true. We even called Suzanne and Teri to make sure it was all that was written. Well, it was! We had an amazing time and the condo was great! Big and open and airy! The winds blew through the doors and windows at night and made the sleeping possible. It was clean and well furnished. It supplied everything that we needed. The location was fantastic! Sunset over the golf course and the short walk down to Anini Beach! We even walked to Queens Bath. It is close to Hanalei which made our excursions easy as well. The Westin, next door provided Starbucks coffee in the morning when we chose not to brew our own. All in all, our stay at Paani was fantastic. The only downfall was the pool at the complex itself, but with the beautiful beaches in the area, we didnt care in the least! I would stay here again and recommend it to others! Thank you for the opportunity!
View Property: 89020
Beth Pallone - Orlando, Florida
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Excellent Value on the North Shore We had a wonderful week at the PaAni in Princeville! The listing information and pictures accurately reflect the beauty of this unit. The owner has obviously spent a lot of time and money upgrading his unit in this older and quiet condo community. The unit is very spacious, clean and has a nicely flowing floor plan. The lanai is extremely large. I spent every morning on the lanai drinking my coffee while I enjoyed the views and a variety of birds. The "Hawaiian A/C" and ceiling fans kept the unit cool. The location is great for accessing the gorgeous north shore beaches, hiking trails, groceries, small shops and good restaurants. The community pool is small, but adequate. Some of the window hardware, window screens and the front screen door lock need some TLC (tender, loving, care). Im sure Alan will take care of those minor maintenance items (considering how lovingly hes already upgraded his "piece of paradise"). If youre looking for newer resort style lodging with a fancy pool, smaller accommodations and a larger price then this is not the place for you. If you want an excellent value on the North Shore that feels like home away from home then...look no further! Well definitely be back! A couple from FL - ages 57 & 52
View Property: 89020
Oliver Roy - Puvimituk, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Perfect spot, perfect hosts Paani is the best place we stayed in in our 4 weeks on the Hawaiian Islands. The house was perfectly clean when we got there, its equipped and furnished beyond imaginable, the view is exquisite and the host were helpful beyond possible. Although we havent met them in person, they would answer to our emails promptly and we had a phone number to call anytime if anything wouldve happened. On Kaua, I would definitely advise any travelers to stay on the north shore and to those I would recommend Paani house with eager willingness!
View Property: 89020
David Sahn - Portland, Oregon
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Christine and I Stayed at Old Style for our second year in a row. It is really a wonderful spot on Hanalei Bay. Comfortable and welcoming. We are very grateful to Suzanne, Liz & the Kobayashi family for making this Paradise available to us as visitors and will very much look forward to staying there again- maybe even next year! Best regards and thanks David J, and Christine E Sahn
View Property: 89019
Annemarie Ganatra - New York NY 10019
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Thanks for a wonderful stay at the Old Style Beach House. What a location...just a few steps from the beautiful Hanalei Bay beach. We had a great time surfing in the morning, taking our cocktails down to the beach to watch the sunset and cooking barbeques on the porch in the evening. Only a short walk to the cute town too. Relaxation at its best....beats all the big resorts hands down!!
View Property: 89019
Shelley15 - Whitefish, MT
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My husband, John, and I really enjoyed the "Old Style". It felt spacious yet cozy. The view was wonderful, and with the beach right out front it was easy to get up early for "dawn patrol" on the water. Well be back.
View Property: 89019
Gisele Boriolo - Berkeley, California
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We had a great stay at the Old Style Beach House. The location is perfect and the cottage is spacious and comfortable. One minor problem was that the coffee pot did not work. Our two night stay was too short and we hope to return. Thanks, Gisele Owner response: We did get a new coffee pot right away, and so far, So Good! :)
View Property: 89019
Kathy74 - Elk, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Old Style Beach House was a wonderful place to stay. We felt like we could stay forever in this bit of paradise. Right on the ocean at the quiet end of the beautiful bay, everything you need is here.
View Property: 89019
Anonymous
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We had a great honeymoon at the Old Style Beach House in May 2009. The place was exactly as advertised and in fact, the pictures didnt do it justice. While we were there, Hanalei Bay was rated the No. 1 Beach in the US. Hanalei itself is a charming little place, perfect for strolling and relaxing. All in all, a great place that to which we will surely return. Mahalo
View Property: 89019
Deano - Walnut Creek CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful Cottage in a Beautiful Place We stayed a full week at Old Style over Thanksgiving week. What a great place... small but not too small, quaint, clean and well equipped. A beautiful view of the ocean just 30 yards away. The sound of crashing surf. A short bicycle ride to down town or the pier. We will be back!
View Property: 89019
shelley - Seattle, Washington
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A little slice of paradise Thank you, our stay was wonderful, and your property is truly amazing. We loved waking to the chorus of birds every morning, the quiet pace of Hanalei, and just being in such beauty. We went to a sunrise Easter service on the pier, got to watch Bethany Hamilton and a bunch of younger kids surfing the bay one afternoon, and were amazed by the beautiful beaches nearby. We had boogie boards and rented a paddle board, used both on the bay in front of the house. We will definitely recommend your houses to anyone looking for a place to stay in Hanalei. The house had plenty of room for a family of 4, was clean, looked just like the photos, and was so convenient to both the beach and town. We loved snorkeling at Tunnels and Kee, were able to visit Queens Bath on a calm surf day, and were stunned by the beauty of Secret Beach. We zip lined at Princeville ranch, the zip only outing, enjoyed morning coffee at Java Kai, casual dinner at Kalypsos, and bar-b-q ing fresh fish at the house. Owner response: We are glad you had such a great vacation, enjoyed our house & took the time to share your experiences with our future guests. Mahalo! Thank you! We hope you can come again. Aloha, Suzanne & family
View Property: 89019
Melis - Arcata, CA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Super location and neat little bungalow We enjoyed the grassy landscape with the beach an easy stroll. The rain sounded nice on the rooftop. The bungalow had a sweet open floor plan and our daughter said the bed was very comfortable in the living room. We would do it again.
View Property: 89019
sarah - wisconsin
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
As advertised We visited to celebrate our tenth anniversary with our six year-old and had a fabulous stay. This property is depicted accurately. It is not fancy, but the location cannot be beat and it has everything you would need to enjoy Kauai. It is absolutely immaculately clean. There is shared coin-op laundry in a separate outbuilding on site. The unit features two twin beds in the living room and a separate queen (king?) bed in the master bedroom. There is a grill and beach chairs are provided. No bikes are provided, which is a very minor downside, but they can be easily rented. The enormous oceanfront lawn is shared by I believe four properties and leads directly to Hanalei bay beach. It is about 3/4 mile into "downtown Hanalei", easily bikeable or walkable through an exclusive neighborhood. No housekeeping, which was a plus for us, as we did not want to be bothered during our stay. If you want granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, a whirlpool tub and double vanities this is not your place and you should look into staying at a resort. I would absolutely stay here again. This was our 8th trip to the Hawaiian Islands and this was easily my favorite place including several other beachfront properties and 5-star resorts. mahalo, terri and suzanne! We will be back as soon as possible!
View Property: 89019
Dee - Australia
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A little piece of paradise A little piece of paradise Guest: Dee () Date of Stay: 07/22/12 Review Submitted: 08/01/12 We recently spent a month in Hawaii and the Old Style beach house was by far the most relaxing, clean and appealing accommodation that we stayed at. If I could move there permanently, I would. The accommodation catered to all our needs, beautiful and tranquil surroundings. Thank you, we would recommend this accommodation to everyone wanting a piece of paradise.
View Property: 89019
Megan Lear - San Diego
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Cant wait to return We just returned from an 8-day trip to Kauai. We spent the first four nights at The Old Style Beach House and I cant think of a better way to enjoy a visit to this island. The location is simply unbeatable: right on the Bay with just a nice grassy lawn and a few palm trees separating you from that warm Hawaiian water. The house was immaculate and looked exactly like the pictures. As other reviewers have mentioned, its not The Four Seasons, but its homey and totally comfortable. A basket of local treats on the kitchen table was a really welcoming touch too. It was so nice to wake up early in the morning, make some Kona coffee in the kitchen, look out at that view and then explore the beach. Some days we were the only people on the sand! We were traveling with our two school-age kids, so it was really nice to have a little more space than we would have in a hotel room; having a fully stocked kitchen for cooking at the house certainly made life easier (and saved some money too). Suzanne and Terri made booking easy and the directions were very clear, Gosh, even reading the directions is enough to make me want to book a flight! From the house youre in easy walking distance to town and the Hanalei Pier with its crystal blue water and Pats Taqueria, which was hands down the best food we ate on the island. Our kiddos loved the smoothies at Hanalei Taro & Juice Co. Youre also a quick car ride away from Tunnels, where we saw Monk Seals, sea turtles and some really colorful parrotfish while snorkeling. After we checked out we headed down to Poipu. After spending four days in Hanalei it felt like Disneyland. Even though we were staying at a five star resort with beautiful grounds and marble bathrooms, I found myself missing the Old Style Beach House. You just cant beat the natural beauty of the North Shore & the easygoing vibe of Hanalei, and The Old Style Beach House is the perfect place to enjoy it. Our family declared this the best vacation ever, and we cant wait to return to The Old Style Beach House.
View Property: 89019